CaptainRobin

Mar 14, 2006
The Peach State
Detector(s) used
Whatever it takes to get the coon.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Morning, Y'all...

I have about 30 pounds of copper and wheat cents found in MO back before '82, all copper. Missouri soil is hard on coppers. All I know for sure is there are no key dates. Surface encrustation is too bad to really look at them. I ain't going to try to individually clean each coin, so decided to order a rock tumbler from Harbor Freight. I have no experience in tumbling coins, just know enough that different metals should not be tumbled together. I also have a lot of discolored Jefferson and Indian head nickels, and some discolored 'junk silver' I'd like to clean up. I'm asking for suggestions for a tumbling medium/cleanser. I'm gonna do this. Thanks in advance for suggestions. I'll let Y'all know results.

DeepseekerADS

Gold Member
Mar 3, 2013
SW, VA - Bull Mountain
Detector(s) used
CTX, Excal II, EQ800, Fisher 1260X, Tesoro Royal Sabre, Tejon, Garrett ADSIII, Carrot, Stealth 920iX, Keene A52
Primary Interest:
Other
I've experimented myself. I used aquarium rocks, water and just a tiny squirt of dish soap - ended up tumbling them again to get all the soap off them.

Another time I used distilled vinegar and salt - they came out seriously discolored - and had to tumble them again with just the aquarium rocks and straight water.

Until I have another bright idea or a better method is posted here, I'll stick with the rocks & water. It does work. About a half hour gets them clean enough to identify. Zincolns with rot really get rotten!

OP
OP
CaptainRobin

CaptainRobin

Mar 14, 2006
The Peach State
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thanks for the suggestion. Still awaiting tumbler to be delivered.

sprailroad

Silver Member
Jan 19, 2017
Grants Pass, Oregon
Detector(s) used