MD treasure hunting club around Altoona area?

dtidwell

Greenie
Jun 18, 2016
Altoona, Alabama
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi, I'm VERY new to this, I haven't even bought an MD yet. I have been searching online and researching for what is best for my area. Altoona, from what I have read, use to be a coal mining town and also Indian area back in the day. I am mainly first finding a group that I could go along with and to find a detecting partner that I could trust and go along with. I learn very quickly and I learn best at hands on then just reading up.

austin

Gold Member
Jul 9, 2012
San Antonio, Texas
Detector(s) used
Garrett 250
Primary Interest:
Other
Jeff of Pa is a moderator here, a successful metal detectorist in your state, an expert on what would work best there and a very nice person, despite his somewhat interesting choices in music. PM (personal message) him and I'm pretty sure he can help...

redbronco

Mar 28, 2008
South Mississippi
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro
Nokta Makro Simplex
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Keep a watch out for anyone MDing and stop and talk to them. Most MDers are pretty friendly and glad to pass on certain info - best detector, some good spots to try.
We have met a couple of our crew that way. Keep posting on TNET and someone will contact you. Do you have a detector in mind? Go ahead and get started, practice, dig and find.
Some body might stop with you and had be thinking about MDing but never got started. Try schools, playgrounds and such to get use to the detector. Be warned, this is very addictive.
After you find that first ring or silver, you will never be the same. I am always looking for a new place to try. Good luck, :skullflag:

OP
OP
D

dtidwell

Greenie
Jun 18, 2016
Altoona, Alabama
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Keep a watch out for anyone MDing and stop and talk to them. Most MDers are pretty friendly and glad to pass on certain info - best detector, some good spots to try.