Tallahassee-area club?

darth_thorn

Tenderfoot
Jan 7, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Haven't found any info on a club here, but I am new to detecting and am here in Tallahassee. Gotta be some civil war items still in the ground around here somewhere.

rancherjl

Jan 22, 2013
Palm Bay, Florida
Detector(s) used
Whites V3i ---- Garrett Ace 350 -------
propointer---------
wireless headphones---
lische with T handle --- stealth & rtg scoops
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
[ I also live in Tallahassee. tried Alligator point several times almost no hits. [/St/ George had a little luck but beach is empty in winter, took the wife we ate good and she went to beach.
Digging in the sand is easy to learn pointing. Have hit several parks and tot lots with some results. will need a strong digger with a sharp blade for the clay & roots.]any pointer will help locate.
coins etc. will be covered with dirt and are hard to see. Later I purchased the Auvio wireless headphone and love not having a wire. Cut the end tip open to digger holder, lets the dirt out.
bring a bag for the auto with spare batt., headphone, water and towel. I carry pepper spray with me. I sharpened my digger after the purchase, Have added a T handle on my digger, helps when ground is dry. good luck and have fun. John Lewis

rancherjl

Jan 22, 2013
Palm Bay, Florida
Detector(s) used
propointer---------
wireless headphones---
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
there are several ghost towns in the Tallahassee area but I did not want to try these very remote areas alone. there was a horse race track but the Florida state capital building is built on the spot!
The very old elem. schools do not provide coins because most children had NO money (no coin machines)
I use headphones to avoid attention and not be annoying to others. you need any brand pointer to help find and dig smaller holes
add bug spray to your bag for this Summer. enjoy the January summer temp.
John Lewis

OP
OP
M

mgl_8