big day tomorrow / more questions

phrostie

Dec 3, 2008
Nap Town
I'm taking the day off tomorrow and hitting as many banks as I can. Anyways, I have a list and am excited. With that being said I am still learning the ropes and have a few more questions.

1. I hear talk about ‘bags.’ Where do you typically find banks that have bags of half dollars? And do machines sort out the good silver?

2. What is the denomination of a box? Where do boxes come from…are they collected change from the banks other branches or do they come directly from the US Mint?

3. What is the likelihood of getting them in a box? Better or worse than loose, or is this debatable? What’s the going opinion on hand rolls?

4. When you drop off your 'bad rolls', how much do you typically drop off at a bank...or what's the most you would drop off in halves?

Thanks again, if I find something good tomorrow I'll post with pics.

Upvote 0

MalteseFalcon

Bronze Member
Aug 17, 2005
1. No way to tell except go in and ask. And I believe machines normally reject silver dimes and quarters, but not sure.

2. Boxes are $500, and they come either from the armored car company, who contracts with the government to handle bulk coins, or an independent company called CWI.

3. Again, no way of knowing. Go in and ask. Hand rolls could be someone's dumps. Or they could just be halves rolled by someone who save them. 50/50 chance either way.

4. It differs from person to person. And it depends on the dump bank. Some have no problem with taking in $10,000 in halves. Some require them to be rolled, others require them to be dumped in the coin machiner they have. Again, no way to know until you go in.

Good luck!

GMan00001

Silver Member
Dec 19, 2006
Twin Cities, MN
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 250
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
MalteseFalcon said:
1. No way to tell except go in and ask. And I believe machines normally reject silver dimes and quarters, but not sure.