Too late to get into CRH? I have some questions.....

Edwardo911

Greenie
Nov 1, 2008
Dallas, Texas
Detector(s) used
None Currently
I have been reading about coil roll hunting and it sounds really exciting and addicting. It also sounds like people are finding less silver and getting more "skunk" boxes lately.

I live in Dallas, Texas. There is a Reserve bank here. Could/should I get rolls from the Fed?

I was wondering if you need to have an account open at the bank you "dump" your coins at after searching them?

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

-Edward

Upvote 0

Rich Hartford

Silver Member
Nov 27, 2008
I've only been into this hobby since November of last year, so I'm no expert,but here is what I do. I have bank accounts where I order boxes,and bank accounts where I dump.
As far as boxes go I order halves. Dimes I can usualy just pick up from the bank, but I do order them once in a while.
More often or not I will find silver in a dime box but it is only one,two or three coins. Half dollar boxes I've been skunking out 50% of the time and have never even come close to hittin a dream box.
I do much better on road trips hitting the different banks.

I'm going to stop buying boxes and do more road trips when the weather gets better.

This hobby is fun as long as you keep in mind that it is a hobby. I only have one or two days a week that I can devote to CRH,but I work it hard on those days. Wish that I could do it every day.
Your experience may be different seeing how you are located near a big city.

Good Luck !

coolpix9

Bronze Member
Jan 17, 2007
Primary Interest:
Other
Ed, a few words from a neighbor of yours. We are lucky that we have no shortage of prime targets(banks) for CRHing. I would suggest that you try Oak Cliff,Pleasant Grove,Mesquite,South Dallas,etc. You are more likely to find someone who has dumped a collection during this economic downturn. You can eliminate a lot of wasted trips by calling first.