jackpot! what are the odds?

bag and drag

Jan 20, 2009
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

what are the odds of this?
my two weekly boxes came on friday and each had only one silver coin showing on the end of the rolls.
box #1 had a '67 showing and we opened that one first,twas the only silver in that whole box.
box #2 had one franklin showing and hidden inside were 20 walkers,6 bens,14 1964 kennedys and 38 40%ers.wow! not my best box by far but I was happy.
now there are 1000 coins in a box and and by looking at both ends of all rolls you can see 100 of them or 10% of the box so logic would dictate that if you can see 1 AG there should be an average of 10 coins in that box.
I've been doing this for a few years and it seems that the 10% thing is pretty consistant over the long term in that if you can see 4 on the ends you got somewhere around 40 silvers in the box.I guess this is not always the case.
anyone else ever see a pattern with this?

Upvote 0

LJ

Silver Member
Dec 23, 2006
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
More of box #2 please!!! Great score B&D. Congrats. Boxes like that will build a stash quick.

If you have been doing this a few years, where have you been? Holding out on us huh.....j/k. Lets see some pictures please.....love the pictures!!!

Good luck on the next boxes and keep em coming..........

Rich Hartford

Silver Member
Nov 27, 2008
I have discovered through extensive research and study that if all clad coins are showing on both sides of the rolls, that the contents will be 100%
clad.
In a couple of boxes I did find one or two of those all silver colored coins,the old ones with no copper showing.Fortunately this does not happen too often. :tongue3:

OP
OP
B

bag and drag

Jan 20, 2009
I've been here for the last couple of years,dont post much (ever) due to slow typing and I would rather use my time reading and searching.
WV has been a good state for halves but its alot slower now.

kestrelia