ArkieBassMan

Silver Member
Dec 17, 2009
AR
Detector(s) used
Minelab E-Trac
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
My first $1000 order of halves were delayed from arriving yesterday until tomorrow. Still too much snow to metal detect, too cold to fish, so I decided to hit every bank I could find looking for halves and also to hopefully find another dump bank as I had only found one and felt I needed at least one more so as to "not wear out my welcome." Very first bank had $2 loose and $50 in customer rolls. Couldn't wait, checked them in the parking lot, all skunks. At the second bank, the teller said she 1 lone half. I asked if they had any stashed away in the vault. She checked and said the computer showed they had $24. I told her I would take them. They're all loose and I hear the wonderful sound of multiple silver as she's counting them on a table too far away for me to see. Since I'm still new to this, of course I have visions of $24 worth of Walkers dancing in my head. A little disappointed, (but not much) to find 3 40%ers in the take. 2 '68Ds and 1 very shiny 69D. I hit probably 20+ more banks and found a whole $14 in loose halves. All skunks. On the way home, I stop at a quik-mart for a soda. The guy in front of me pays with $5 all in halves. I scoop those up as well (to the delight of the cashier - they wouldn't fit in the register). All skunks, but I felt as though it was a lucky "free shot" anyway. On the way home I notice a little bank I had completely forgotten about. How I'd missed it I have no idea as its a whole 3 miles from my house. They had no halves, but they have a coin counter. I was completely honest with the manager telling her about our hobby. She said she'd be happy to open an account for me and that they had another branch not too far away that had a counter as well. I used my halves to open my account. Not a bad start to the day. My first 3 silver halves CRHing and I tripled the places I have to dump.