Wheaties today.

O

Ohioan

I've been looking this site over a bit in the past couple of weeks, and have been interested in the coin roll hunting. Anything with the word hunting after it I'm up for it. I've heard of folks doing this but I don't think they done it on the scale I see some of you people doing it. I remember a couple family members getting just a few rolls here and there and looking through them (back in the 70s). I'm pretty new to coin collecting but I figured it was time for me to start a collection, wish I thought about it last year when a friend of my wife gave her a whole bunch of wheaties, buffalos, steel pennies, couple indian head pennies and misc. etc for cleaning out her garage. , would have been a pretty good start to a collection but I gave them to a friend to start a collection :icon_scratch: Anyway since then I found three wheaties in change and I had them in a little jar. Well today after being inspired by this forum I decided to try to get some wheaties by getting 2 rolls of pennies to look through while I was out on errands. I figured I would ask at the gas station for some on the way home. So I stop on my first errand and walking out of the store I look at my change and whaddya know a 1948s wheatie, I thought it was pretty ironic. Went to my second errand (grocery store) and then at the station they only give me 1 roll. So I go home with my wheat penny sitting in the ashtray, I'm all proud of it like I just found a hopewell drill or something. I get home and I look in my pocket for the wheatie and then realized that I left it in the ashtray, but at the same time I realized it I saw another wheatie in the change in my hand. I scratch my head for a minute and go check the ashtray there was the 48 and the one in my hand was a 1919s So I guess I got another one at the grocery store or i got 2 at my first stop and just didn't see it at first. When i went through the roll I found no wheaties but I put the first of my pre 82 pennies back. Sma