1st Road Trip - Adrenaline Was Pumping All Day!!!

$ilver$urfer

Bronze Member
Sep 4, 2010
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello All,

Went on my first road trip today with some good results! I Started with $1,000 in my pocket and visited 8 towns, drove 125 miles round-trip, and had a blast! Here goes:

Town #1: Only bank in town - I go in and ask for halves and the head teller says you are lucky we never have them in but we have 16 rolls, how many do you want? Uhhh...ALL!!! I was so excited I am sure she probably read all over my face I was an inexperienced newbie but she was happy to release all 16 rolls to me. The coin rolls were really old looking and I immediately had visions of sugarplums dancing in my head! She felt bad about me having to carry all of those rolls out to my car so she gave me a free canvas coin bag!!! I got out to the car an proceeded to unleash a coin unwrapping fury on those poor rolls. While doing so and skunking out on the first few I noticed small cursive writing in pencil on the rolls that said "No val.". WHAT!?! While examining the remaining rolls now I see this same notation on at least half of the rolls, then see dates written on them too (i.e. 1974, 1976, etc.). Most of the rolls were all the same dates in each roll and they were all CLAD! A little disappointing, but a free canvas coin bag to start the day, good start if you ask me!!!

Town #2: 3 Banks

Bank #1 - squadoosh!
Bank #2 - 1 loose clad half!
Bank #3 - zilch!
Town #3: Only one bank in town - 10 machine rolls and 2 loose clad halves. Luck started to turn up, the machine rolls produced 3 40%s!
Town #4: Only one bank in town which produced a whole lot of wasted time!
Town #5: 2 Banks

Bank #1 - 3 customer rolls were all duds!