apush

Bronze Member
Dec 21, 2009
U.S.A.
Detector(s) used
ACE 250; Lone Star
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Has anyone found a 1943 Steel Cent in a box? This one has escaped me time and time again. I know coin counters have magnets that pull steel. Just wonder if a steel cent that is deposited straight to the bank (and misses the coin counter) could in theory go to Brinks, then rerolled, and packed into boxes? Or does the Brinks machines have the same set up? I am thinking it does(?).

I have searched numerous handrolls--just need more patience with the handrolls I guess. I know steel cents are cheap, and I could just go buy one, but I really would like to find a few in the wild. Santa brought me a load of coin albums. :icon_sunny:

HSH,
apush :read2:

Upvote 0

Codes

Bronze Member
Feb 28, 2007
United States
Detector(s) used
White's M6
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I've been CRHing for almost 4 years and have never found a steel cent. Most of the coins I search are from boxes but I have searched many hand rolls as well. I always just chalked it up to the magnets in the machines and the fact that they looked different so they are more easily noticed.

-Codes

Produce Guy

Bronze Member
Dec 17, 2008
austin,texas
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace250,garrett pro-pointer,AT/Pro,
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I was at my bank the other day when I saw the bank teller break a new roll of pennies to give me change,and the first coin I see pop out of the roll is a steel penny.I asked her if I could have it and she said yes. :hello2:

ugotit22

Bronze Member
Dec 26, 2007
The Dirty Shire
Detector(s) used
Whites DFX, and Whites IDX Pro
ive found steelies in boxes before. They cant be pulled because id brinks was using magnets they would pull out all the canadians. and god know we all get plenty of those

MentalUnrest

Nov 14, 2010