Newbie CRH with coin show etiquette question?

santafeboy

Dec 8, 2010
Detector(s) used
bounty hunter 1100
Definately take your Red book.Also shop around with all dealers before selling to get the best price.Keep in mind with silvers recent plummet from $50 to $35 an ounce your probably not in a good time to sell. Personally I would hold on to them unless your trading up to 90% ers

fistfulladirt

Gold Member
Feb 21, 2008
Great Lakes State
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
dirtfishing
Primary Interest:
Other
This is only my opinion. I would consider carrying a Redbook to be quite tacky, and possibly offensive. I've never done it before, I just know ahead of time what I want, or just carry a cheat sheet.

clovis97

Silver Member
Dec 9, 2010
I've never been to a coin show, but I've been to more than 100 toy train shows. Everyone brings their Greenberg price guide, which is the standard for the Lionel hobby. How else are you supposed to check price, the rarity of an item, and know what you already own?

Never in my life have I heard any dealer get upset about anyone checking their Greenberg price guide. In fact, most dealers will hand you their copy for reference.

If you run into a dealer that is offended, move on. You probably don't want to do business with them anyway.

rileyboy

Bronze Member
Jan 15, 2010
Good question. As for me, I always bring a Reb Book or latest coin magazine for reference. I've never had a dealer frown on me for using it either. In fact they recommend you check the prices.
Be advised that "grade and condition" are very important in pricing.
Have a good time at the show.
rileyboy
(R.I.P., Rich)

65gt350

Mar 6, 2007
California
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Toltec 100