47thelement

Bronze Member
Jan 8, 2009
Detector(s) used
E-trac, Excal, ACE 250 for my son
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
It's that time of year...

The holidays are upon us. That is good if you are a creative coin roll hunter. As a veteran I will enlighten many of the new breed on a great way to score this time of year.

Pay attention and follow along...

People will do desperate measures in desperate times, especially when it comes to putting toys under the tree for their kids or putting a holiday meal on the table for the family.

Some places you may find grampa's coin collection turned in may be your local grocery store or major toy store. You may also try Wallyword type retailers, and dollar stores.

The way these coins get to the store may not be directly from a family trying put together a hardscrabble holiday, but you may also have the coins that we're acquired in the dark of the night and need to be laundered.

Either way those coins are out there for the vigilant hunters. Time to cultivate those relationships with store managers, if you have not already done so.

By the way, I've had VERY good luck with this in areas hit by the current economic disposition.

Good luck and happy hunting

Upvote 0

Gilmore Happy

Banned
Jul 19, 2011
PHOENIX, ARIZONA
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Re: It's that time of year...

Thanks for this post. I hope to find a couple of good collections this Holiday Season.

I hope the finds really do peak in this time frame, November-February.

This is the word on the street.

Th3Offspring

Aug 29, 2010
Detector(s) used
Garrett Master Hunter CX Plus
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting

where exactly would you go in a grocery store or wal-mart to ask for coins? other than cashiers?

dossier

Aug 23, 2011
PA
Detector(s) used
Fisher F2, Hands
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting