Welcome guest, is this your first visit?
Discoveries

us
    Mar 2012
    Middle Tn
    279 times
    CRH,Storage Unit Auctions

CRH find or garage sale find?

I'm new at CRH, but I'm good. Went to a yard sale today& they had some of them Old Whitman Books for coin collecters. 25 cents apeice for whatever is in the box. Told my grandson gimme all those books in that box, he handed me 4, looked in the box, saw another one , picked it up and it was heavy, old nickels. Paid my $1.25 left. No silver but good old dates. Get back to ya!

HH All!

us
    R.I.P. Rich Hartford, You'll be missed.

Feb 2011
    in front of you in the bank
    1304 times
    All Types Of Treasure Hunting
    did you pay face value for that nickel album?
    The album itself is used, I have no clue what condition it is in, but think you did quite well.
    HH
    Buff
    HH
    BuffaloBoy

us
    Mar 2012
    Middle Tn
    279 times
    CRH,Storage Unit Auctions
    paid 25 cents for a book and 42 old nickels

Apr 2012
    203 times
    paying 25 cents for $2.10 sure beats the time I sold my clad halves at 10% above face...

There's a sucker born every minute.

us
    Feb 2008
    Great Lakes State
    1020 times
    silver surfing
    Those Whitmans are ok for short term storage. The acids and glues will tear up coins after awhile. I've bought a couple filled with junk silver and everything inside was green and gooey. Beware!

us
    R.I.P. Rich Hartford, You'll be missed.

Feb 2011
    in front of you in the bank
    1304 times
    100% true. I forget what chemical is inside the albums, but the coin will be RUINED if stored in them for a long time. I suggest spending a little more money and buying a higher quality album(dansco, etc.) if you plan to actually fill up albums for long term. If for short term and lower grade circulation coins, you are just fine with the whitman albums.
    Quote Originally Posted by fistfulladirt View Post