CRH find or garage sale find?

frankendime

Mar 8, 2012
Middle Tn
Primary Interest:
Other
I'm new at CRH, but I'm good. Went to a yard sale today& they had some of them Old Whitman Books for coin collecters. 25 cents apeice for whatever is in the box. Told my grandson gimme all those books in that box, he handed me 4, looked in the box, saw another one , picked it up and it was heavy, old nickels. Paid my $1.25 left. No silver but good old dates. Get back to ya!

HH All!

Upvote 0

BuffaloBoy

Gold Member
Feb 16, 2011
America
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
did you pay face value for that nickel album?
The album itself is used, I have no clue what condition it is in, but think you did quite well.
HH
Buff

PhattyB

Apr 3, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
paying 25 cents for $2.10 sure beats the time I sold my clad halves at 10% above face...

There's a sucker born every minute.

fistfulladirt

Gold Member
Feb 21, 2008
Great Lakes State
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
dirtfishing
Primary Interest:
Other
Those Whitmans are ok for short term storage. The acids and glues will tear up coins after awhile. I've bought a couple filled with junk silver and everything inside was green and gooey. Beware!

BuffaloBoy

Gold Member
Feb 16, 2011
America
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
100% true. I forget what chemical is inside the albums, but the coin will be RUINED if stored in them for a long time. I suggest spending a little more money and buying a higher quality album(dansco, etc.) if you plan to actually fill up albums for long term. If for short term and lower grade circulation coins, you are just fine with the whitman albums.
Those Whitmans are ok for short term storage. The acids and glues will tear up coins after awhile. I've bought a couple filled with junk silver and everything inside was green and gooey. Beware!

sagittarius98

Gold Member
Jan 16, 2012
Maryland
Detector(s) used
White's Coinmaster
Primary Interest:
Other