Cashing in my finds (hear me out first!)

Weaselbrott

Aug 12, 2012
Eastern Seaboard
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter- Quick Silver (I know, I am a novice, give me a break! :P)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have really been very tempted to trade in some of my coin roll hunting finds for gold lately, and today I did just that. I traded 7 rolls of 40%ers ($70 face), and 4 rolls of 90% FDR dimes ($20 face) for this beauty:
14241_Slab.jpeg
And then I bought this one with some savings:
7229_Obv.jpeg

Before you tear me a new one, I was just diversifying a little bit. This was only a fraction of my stash, and it was always my intent to trade in my 40%ers for gold once I got there (not so much with the 90% dimes, but still...). I love pre-1933 US gold coins, and these are two of my favorites. I am a believer that silver is due to perform well in the coming years, and outperform gold in many ways, but I like to have my eggs in a few baskets... I feel like this is a safer move. Anyway, this is one of my CRH goals and I did it! Feel free to look back and laugh at my investment if silver skyrockets; I'll still have plenty :thumbsup: Happy Hunting guys!

Upvote 0

bigscores

Aug 8, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Nice gold. :) If/when I move into gold with my CRH finds, I will pick items with high numismatic premiums, as that insulates me against falls in the spot price of gold.

Last edited:
OP
OP
Weaselbrott

Weaselbrott

Aug 12, 2012
Eastern Seaboard
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Nice gold. :) If/when I move into gold with my CRH finds, I will pick items with high numismatic premiums, as that insulates me against falls in the spot price of gold.

Smart.

FreedomUIC

Bronze Member
Jan 4, 2010
NUNYA
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Nobody is going to tear/rip/shred/destroy/flame you for doing that. I just traded in some of my CRH finds for two 1/10 oz AGE 2006-W (Collectible).