Just getting started

fixxxer9

Jan 8, 2013
SLC, UT
Primary Interest:
Other
I collected coins as a kid and lost my coin collection in a move when I was 19. I just started collecting again and have become obsessed with accumulating silver. I just started coin roll hunting and I love it. I am a grad student with 3 kids so I don't have much money to spare so I primarily search penny rolls right now. I have found a couple wheaties so far and today I actually found a 1999 dime in a roll of pennies. I like to search nickels because I like to find old ones (no buffs or v's yet) and I would love to find some war nickels. I can't afford to buy a whole box right now so I just pick up two or three rolls at a time. After looking through other posts it seems like war nickels are rarely found. Is that true?

I know I'm rambling but I went to the coin shop today and got super excited when I was looking through the $2.00 bargain bin and found 10 barber and seated liberty dimes. They aren't in good shape but I was super excited so I bought them all. I'm super excited about it and my wife didn't seem to care too much so I just wanted to post it and at least tell someone that might get excited about it.

Sorry for the long pointless post but I'm super excited to have found a community of coin roll hunters. :icon_thumright:

Upvote 0

Southpaw

Aug 26, 2012
Ohio
Primary Interest:
Other
Welcome to the community! You got a great deal for those barbers and seated liberties! As far as the war nickels, the average seems to be 0.5-1 war nickel per box for me. But I have not taken the time into nickels as much as others, although nickels are my favorite to look through. Some people have found some great finds with minimal money for coin roll hunting. Hopefully you can get some decent finds!

OP
OP
F

fixxxer9

Jan 8, 2013
SLC, UT
Primary Interest:
Other
Thanks. I found a 1997 s proof penny in a roll of pennies two days ago. I was super excited about it.

Southpaw

Aug 26, 2012
Ohio