Best Bag of Nickels in a While (and a Question)

Infector101

Mar 20, 2012
Lake Wallenpaupack, PA
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 250
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I've been hunting bag and boxes for almost a year now (the bags seem to produce many more keepers). The last bag I had I got skunked but this bag made up for it for sure. Five war nickels and two buffalo nickels.

Buffaloes:
1 - No Date
1 - 1928

War Nickels:
1 - 1942-P
1 - 1943-P
1 - 1944-P
2 - 1945-P

Do you have better luck with bags, boxes, or CWR?

Obverse.jpg Reverse.jpg

Last edited:
Upvote 0

Weaselbrott

Aug 12, 2012
Eastern Seaboard
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter- Quick Silver (I know, I am a novice, give me a break! :P)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
i can't even find a bank in my area that will sell me a bag. i like cwrs best, though. great finds!

CladSmoke

Nov 18, 2012
Ohio
Detector(s) used
Mine eyes
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I've only done boxes. Had equal luck in both MWR and CWR.

Silvercrazy

Nov 24, 2006
I prefer Machine wrapped myself. I also like customer rolls but find quiet a few are short. I have never did a bag but would like to some day. Nickels are my favorite but they are not for everyone. Good Luck

Rascal

Feb 5, 2012
Western Arizona
Detector(s) used
Number 1 Mark II Eyeball
Primary Interest:
Other
CWR's by far. Of course not everyone thinks a full roll of 1949's is the cat's pajamas but I thought it was pretty cool. Along with the rolls of "39's and "41's, and....

That honeypot is now gone, though. The bank closed last week (issues with the lease) and I haven't a clue where the dumper will be doing their deed now.

Aside from flukes like that it seems to matter not - as someone pointed out in another thread the war nickels probably get by because they tarnish more than regular nickels and people don't bother to give them a second glance.

Rascal

frogginfish

Dec 18, 2012
Southwest Indiana
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro
Fisher F2 w/11" DD coil