New guy, first box of dimes

BigMoses777

Apr 4, 2013
First of all, thank you to all who came before and added their insights to the many blogs on this site. I was happy to find this app for my iPhone. I opened an account at a credit union directly across the street from me and made fast friends with the vault teller. Although they don't even have an option to order halves, she said she would be happy to take whatever I bring in and put it through the machine for free. (I hear a couple of you saying, "Don't buy where you dump!!" And I know) She was great and asked if I wanted to get started right away because she could give me a box of dimes now. I couldn't resist. So here are the results: 1 1953 & 1 plastic button looking thing. I found the plastic and my daughter found the silver! Only one in a box of $250, but its a start. This leads me to a question. Does anyone know if Loomis scans their coins? 1 seems low compared to what I have seen on here, but then again, I'm a noob. :) ***On a positive note, none of the banks in my area have ever heard of coin roll hunting and they all think its very exciting!! Lets see if they still think that when I'm bugging them more often.

image-3184383595.jpg

Upvote 0
OP
OP
BigMoses777

BigMoses777

Apr 4, 2013
Any tips on how to get coins rolled by individuals or is that not a good idea?

Kilerclown25

Mar 27, 2013
Ohio
Primary Interest:
Other
Ask for customer wrapped rolls, sometimes they can be skunks other times there small silver mines!! Good luck!

Joshr29

May 23, 2012
Texas
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
That's determination!

I only average about one a box but every now and then you hit that box with ten of them. I know they are less valuable than halves but they seem to be more reliable. I've only been skunked on like 3 boxes. I do mostly machined wrapped rolls. There is still silver in them.

tlowery04

Apr 29, 2011
Cashion Oklahoma
Detector(s) used
White Eagle II, Minelab ETrac
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting