May 21, 2013
NJ
Detector(s) used
BH Tracker IV,
Fisher F22,
Garrett Pro Pointer
Primary Interest:
Other
First off, I'm a newb to this site. Found it by accident earier in the week and I think this site's awesome! I can't believe the money some of you regularly drop on boxes. Wish I could do the same.

I've been buying the occassional rolls of nickels and pennies here and there for several years and have had a decent amount of success picking up wheatbacks and pre-64 Jeffersons. Never seriously thought there was enough silver still in circulation to warrant searching higher denoms until I found this site.

So... since I don't have the extra cash to order a $500 Halves box (or 4, like some of you do) I've been checking banks locally seeing if any had any loose/rolled Halves on hand. Nobody has had any until I stopped at a brach of my Credit Union which I rarely go to.

Asked the teller for 2 rolls of dimes and 5 rolls of nickels. Then casually ask her if she has any Half Dollars. Turns out she's been sitting on $255 worth. A female customer came in recently alledging that they were her late father's collection and she wanted to cash them in. Needless to say I jumped at that and bought them all. The teller was more than happy to get rid of them... er, I mean sell them to me.

Turns out they were a dump and run. A few rolls were marked, no silver, and only a couple of Halves potentially worth holding onto because of condition. And far too many coins were marked.

Not the edges, not an occassional errant marker, but roll after roll I'd come across several coins that were marked across the obverse with black, red or green ink or paint - far too much for it to be a coincidence and in most cases it covered half the face. I can understand someone marking the rolls, but the coins themselves? Like I said, none of the edges were marked (which would have made alot more sense for CRH's), just the flats.