How do you re-wrap your rolls?

Punchy71

May 29, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi,
I am completely new to coin roll hunting and haven't actually started yet buy I am thinking. I was wanting to know what everyone's technique is for re-wrapping torn-open rolls. Do you discard the destroyed paper wrapper and buy some new wrappers and re-wrap them yourself by hand or do you somehow re-use the torn paper wrappers and if so how do you do that?

Thank you

Upvote 0

Iamrussell

Bronze Member
Mar 12, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
You are going to get a lot of different opinions here- there are those who will say NOT to reuse the original wrappers, then there are those who do- before I found some banks that had coin counting machines I re-wrapped my rolls with the original mainly because most banks don't have half dollar paper rolls on hand and I didn't want to buy any and spend money- here is how I did it: I would pick the corners of one side and carefully unwrap just one side open- then dump the coins into palm on hand check and then slide them back in and fold the paper in- pretty simple-

kd5txx

Nov 5, 2009
Lexington KY
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 350
I use brown wrappers. I absolutely hate when people are to lazy to do this and reuse the yellow wrapper. This screams " I am only looking for silver " to the teller. I will refuse to take them. I do not have enough cash to waste time rue rolling them. Also please don't write " NO SILVER" in huge letters on the roll.

TheNotoriousA.G.

Apr 29, 2013
Detector(s) used
Hands & Ears
Primary Interest:
Other
I just ordered 4000 wrappers from banksupplies.com since i'll be losing coin machine access in the near future. I have not had to re roll yet, but that's the way my old man does it and he's never had any issues.

agme

Feb 4, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
New wrappers are cheap and easy to use.

usernameerror

Apr 30, 2012
East Coast
Primary Interest:
Other