Questions on Ike dollars and Bi-centennial halves?

barneyb71

Mar 6, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Do circulated Bi-centennial halves have any value besides face value? I'm sitting on $110 of them and if I'm not going to get anything out of them why would I hold on to them? Do circulated Ike dollars carry any value besides face value? Why is it so hard to find them? If collectors are holding them, will that make their value increase? May be dumb questions but I don't have any coin shops around me and I'm new to most of this.....thanks.

Upvote 0

Iamrussell

Bronze Member
Mar 12, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
1st read the begginers thread in the stickies section- the whole thing-
2nd bicentennial halves arent worth keeping, release them back into the wild
3rd Ikes are tough to come by and in most areas you can get a small premium on CL or other classifieds- I usually get $1.25 each but like you said finding them is tough, if ya have some try craigslist
HH

-------------------------------------
just keep stacking, just keep stacking, stacking stacking stacking

tyler2277

Mar 3, 2014
Chicago suburbs
Primary Interest:
Other
I did have some luck selling bicentennial halfs. I sold the first group if 50 for a buck a piece. After that, nothing. I put them up on Craigslist, you could try that.

SilverFace

Silver Member
Aug 21, 2011
Silverville
Primary Interest:
Other