I may have found a 1943 copper penny?!?

jimmyforgotten

Feb 15, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm new to the CRHing world, but I've been going through coins like it's going out of style for a couple of months now; mostly halves, pennies, and some nickels. I've been learning as I go, and for a while the number of penny bags I had to hammer out was overwhelming so I was setting the wheats aside to look at later.

Well I was going through the couple hundred wheats I have with a list of key dates, and I come across a what looks like a copper 1943 in pretty bad shape, copper 1943 was on my list. Again, I'm new to this so it didn't really sink in until I looked at the average sell price for a circulated copper 43. Then it was like getting SMACKED! So of course I'm thinking it just can't be a 43, and honestly it is possible that is a 45, but however I turns out this is a blast!

Not sure where to go from here other than a coin shop, but I certainly need to get it checked out. I'll post a picture and let you have a look as well.

And I thought it couldn't get more addicting!

JF

1943 copper penny.jpg

Upvote 0

Iamrussell

Bronze Member
Mar 12, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Gonna need a lot better close up clear pic for us to give any info-

-------------------------------------
just keep stacking, just keep stacking, stacking stacking stacking

OP
OP
J

jimmyforgotten

Feb 15, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
My Iphone 5, what can I say?!

I'll try to get it to focus closer when I get back to the house tonight, it doesn't help that the coin is in pretty rough shape.

CoinFetcher

Bronze Member
Apr 29, 2012
Left coast
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Love to treasure hunt
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
looks like a '45 to me.

You pictures are not adequate!

rare is rare is rare....

Diggin-N-Dumps

Gold Member
Sep 9, 2009
Fort Worth,Texas
Detector(s) used
CTX 3030 / AT PRO / Etrac w/ NEL