who so many war and buffalo nickels???

7up2000

Jul 6, 2014
Tucson, Arizona
Detector(s) used
Currently use Garrett AT Pro, Previously used the Fisher F2 for one year
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I've been CRHing for about 18 months. i've settled on nickels after getting skunked time after time on the dime, quarter and half boxes(just as an aside.....I have no idea how some people on here can claim to average a silver dime per box!!!). I enjoy hunting the nickels because you can almost always count on finding at least one silver or buffalo in a box. I was wondering....does anybody have a theory as to why the nickel boxes are so consistent producers???? Kind regards, 7up

Upvote 0
S

stefen

Probably because of the quantity produced...and few people hunt nickels because only war nickels were silver...

A lot of work for so little results.

Nitric

Silver Member
Mar 8, 2014
Dallas,GA
Detector(s) used
CZ6A
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm just going to take a wild guess....Most people know or can tell a silver dime ,quarter ,half, when they are handling change or rolling their coins.From a quick look at the rim or sound. Unless your into coins or CRH, not many people even know about silver nickels That's just my guess.:dontknow: The buffalo's? I have no idea! Maybe your just in a good area where older people are dumping their change jars.:dontknow:

OP
OP

7up2000

Jul 6, 2014
Tucson, Arizona
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Probably because of the quantity produced...and few people hunt nickels because only war nickels were silver...

A lot of work for so little results.