My First Post and First Nickel Box

WheatFromChaff

Jun 19, 2016
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I suspect this may turn into a long post, so if you don't feel like going through the whole thing, hello, I'm very excited to have finally joined the forum. I've been doing light Crhing for 18 months or so, and after discovering TreasureNet I was inspired to pick up a metal detector as well.
I pick through any change I come across and search boxes of cents or rolls of other denominations when I have the time, but it's hard for me to do any steady hunting during the school year.
Now that school is out and I have my drivers license I am going to try increasing my volume as much as I can, so I started by dumping all my accumulated rejects at my regional bank and then cruising down the street to the local Wells Fargo. I asked for a box of nickels.

Do you have an account here?
No....do I need one? [emoji51]
Yeah, sorry.
Have a nice day, mam.

From there I went to BB and T, where I had the same experience. At that point I was feeling pretty discouraged and convinced that I probably should open an account, but persistence pays off, and the third time was indeed the charm and after a short conversation with her supervisor the kindly teller at Bank of America was able to accommodate me.

I got that box of nickels home and plowed through it. Some may call it a skunk, and I concede that I was really hoping for a war nickel, buffalo, 2009, or even just something foreign, but I was satisfied because it filled a good number of the pre-1960 holes in my budding circulated collection. Also provided quite a few better examples from more recent years. I got
2x 1939
2x 1940D
1x 1941D
1x 1941S
1x 1946
1x1947
2x 1947S
1x 1949
1x 1952
1x 1952D
5x 1954D
3x 1957
1x 1957D
3x 1959D

1x 1987S