Isn't this considered counterfeiting?

cosmetal

Aug 22, 2017
Sacramento CA
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I saw the attached today when searching through my local Craigslist.

https://sfbay.craigslist.org/sfc/clt/d/1909-vdb-lincoln-wheat-cent/6575588774.html

I'm no legal expert, but, this definitely would seem to be counterfeiting of a very sought after rare copper coin. Even if you state that it is a replica, it is supposedly illegal to produce unauthorized replicas of US currency - yes? ???

Opinions, please.

James

Attachments

• 1909 S VDB Lincoln Wheat Cent Penny Souvenir Coin - collectibles - by owner - sale.pdf
    150.1 KB · Views: 132
Upvote 0

Mackaydon

Gold Member
Oct 26, 2004
N. San Diego Pic of my 2 best 'finds'; son & g/son
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks
The Hobby Protection Act, passed by Congress in 1973, covers imitation political items (e.g., buttons, posters, stickers, etc.), as well as imitation numismatic items (e.g., various coins, tokens, paper money, commemorative medals) that are required to be marked with certain identifying information in an effort to flag them as imitations. The FTC’s Rule establishes the size of the required disclosures, their location, and the manner in which items may be marked.Stating the coin is not real in the ads is insufficient to comply with the law.

Text of Rule
Don........

eman1000

Feb 24, 2016
Elizabethtown, IN
Detector(s) used
XP Deus ORX, Etrac, F75, Simplex, MX5, V3i, Equinox, Tesoro Vaq, F22
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm thinking that is a pic of a real S VDB penny and they will likely ship you one that says "COPY" on it. Or I suppose there is a slim chance the seller doesn't know what they have but that pic looks real enough to me..

bologna321

Bronze Member
Aug 26, 2017
SW MO
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT PRO, Garrett Ultra GTA 500, Equinox 600
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting