Coin roll hunting as a living

jrf30

Bronze Member
May 7, 2006
CO, AZ
Detector(s) used
dfx, Ryedale!
Okay ... I rarely do this. In fact, I've NEVER done this before. EVER. But I call BS on this one. Major, large BS!!!! The numbers do not add up. Two examples. "He is already about 3/4 of the way to last year's profit of $110K, and that's because of the W quarters this year." He makes a big deal over how the W quarters pushed him up tremendously in 2019. IN fact, he sold a FEW HUNDRED of them already this year. So - if he sold 300 of them, and that is definitely a "few hundred" and he sold them for $15 each, which would be when they were selling near their top for each one, that would be ... $4,500. A nice profit. But I wouldn't say that thanks to $4,500 in a lot of work that it means he is way up towards his $110K of last year. If the $110K was a realistic number, the $4,500 from the W coins would be a little extra, but no big deal. Instead, I think I'll say he DID sell a few hundred of the W's. If so, he DID get an extra $4,500 in profit, and good for him. But if that was so amazing to him, then he did not make $110K the year before. Because $4,500 would not impress him much. Just be a nice bonus, but not so impressive. Make sense? The more money you make, the more it takes to be a change from that norm. Nope. A few hundred W's would not mean much to him with those numbers. Example #2. About the same spot in the video, when he was talking about some specifics. "If he had gotten into the 2009 nickels, he thinks he could have made $200K or $300K in 2009. Because they were selling very high." Yes, they were. For nickels and new ones. Because they were rare. But for him to say he could make $200K on them (The LOWER end), based entirely on if he was selling nickels, and if he got $20 per roll (Which is high, even for them. I WAS doing this in 2009, and still have rolls of 2009 nickels. And dimes. rolls of 2009 nickels were selling for about $15 per roll, at their PEAK)