How often would you guys say you find silver in a box?

missouriexp

Dec 26, 2020
Kansas City, MO
Detector(s) used
Equinox 600
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
So I was kind of curious after reading the forum and got a $500 box of halves. No silver. Maybe 4-5 proofs. I'm using it to build a nice half dollar collection since I have never had one. It was definitely fun to look through.

How often do you guys actually run into silver when hunting boxes of halves?

Upvote 0

blueberra

Oct 15, 2009
Massachusetts
Detector(s) used
Deus XP
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I'm fairly new to the game but here are my numbers ...

2019 47 boxes 22 skunks 25 silver (53% boxes had silver)
2020 37 boxes 27 skunks 10 silver (27% silver)
2021 13 boxes 10 skunks 3 silver (23% silver)

Total 97 boxes 59 skunks 38 silver (39% silver)

silveraddict

Jan 9, 2016
Primary Interest:
Other
Used to find an average of 5 to 25 per box.
It was not a matter of if there was an ender but how many enders in a box.
That was 2+ years ago.
Now, I can not even remember when the last time I found a single silver in a box.
Much less an ender.
I used to hunt 5-6 boxes a week.
Now maybe 1 a week.
I used to find over 1000 silver halves a year and kept a monthly log.
Now I don't even keep track.
My only saving grace is that my Credit Union has a coin machine in the lobby.
They let me buy the half dollar bag.
I pick it up every 2 to 3 weeks.
There is usually anywhere between $100 & $600 in the bag.
I have never been skunked on a bag and many times over 10 silver in a bag.
Best in the last 6 months had 78 silver halves in it.
Definitely not as much fun as it used to be.

TheMastermind

Bronze Member
Mar 31, 2012
Pennsy
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
So far for this year:

1/15 boxes of halves contained silver.

1/12 boxes of dimes contained silver.