Emperor Findus Cladius

Bronze Member
Sep 2, 2004
TX
Detector(s) used
Whites Vision/V3 Spectra, AT Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Problem with finding coins in the ground is when they get graded they do get knocked down a notch or two due to the corrosion from the ground. They do state on the slab that it has the details of a coin in fine condition, but basically due to the corrosion it is knocked down OVERALL to G6, which is the upper level of G as most G condition coins are graded G-4. I have collected coins for many years, and do know more than the average person about grading, but cannot profess to know as much as professional graders.

buscadero

Bronze Member
Jul 16, 2006
Corpus Christi, Tx.
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 250
Well Rich: You have 3 Choices! Crack it open & leave it as a Raw Coin! Crack it open & send it to another Grading Service, or Leave it asis!

I'm no Expert, but I think any Graders will knock it down for Corrosion! ??? Good Luck!

Joe

Cannonman17

Bronze Member
Jul 16, 2006
Wisconsin
I'm no pro either- IMO a tiny bit harsh...perhaps a G-8? If you feel real strongly about it you could always pop it out and send it in to another grading company.

OP
OP
R

Rich

wayne1956 said:
due to the corrosion

i figure that is the main reason "corrosion",but still a great lookin coin,as for crackin the slab i might just do that with a 1797 half cent error and the 1798 l cent and send them to PCGS....
it just seems to me whenever i send out coppers for grading that they tend to get a lower grade than I would think,but thats me....
thx for all replys...!

Emperor Findus Cladius

Bronze Member
Sep 2, 2004
TX
Detector(s) used
Whites Vision/V3 Spectra, AT Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I agree it has much better detail than a G-8 grade, but they take many things into account, including detail and condition, and basically give an overall grade.

hollowpointred

Gold Member
Mar 12, 2005
Detector(s) used