1965 quarter weight question.

Heysenn

Mar 5, 2013
Hopefully this post is in the right forum ...

Hey everyone! I ordered a gram scale to check our coins from when we go metal detecting and we pulled a 1965 quarter out of the ground a few days ago ... I have a book called "Strike it Rich with Pocket Change" and it says a normal 1965 weighs 5.67 and a silver (rare) would weigh 6.25. This one we have weighs 5 grams ... From what I understood from the book, there are quarters out there that are the width of a dime and can weigh from 4.2 - 4.4 grams ... But, like I mentioned, this one is 5 grams.

Anyone know anything more about this error??

Thanks in advance!
- Heysenn

OP
OP
Heysenn

Heysenn

Mar 5, 2013
Without a picture we can be of no assistance.......

I'm guessing of the weight? If not, let me know ... I'm new to weighing. The dirty looking one is the one we dug up and I posted a regular one just to show the gram difference. Thanks!!

Attachments

• image-1262209014.jpg
    image-1262209014.jpg
    46.4 KB · Views: 389
  • image-845682478.jpg
    image-845682478.jpg
    40.6 KB · Views: 302

sagittarius98

Gold Member
Jan 16, 2012
Maryland
Detector(s) used
White's Coinmaster
Primary Interest:
Other
I'm guessing of the weight? If not, let me know ... I'm new to weighing. The dirty looking one is the one we dug up and I posted a regular one just to show the gram difference. Thanks!!

Corrosion takes off layers. It could be struck on a foreign planchet, but I don't think so.

OP
OP
Heysenn

Heysenn

Mar 5, 2013
The book says it could've been struck by a dime plachet? Is that what you mean by foreign?

sagittarius98

Gold Member
Jan 16, 2012
Maryland
Detector(s) used
White's Coinmaster
Primary Interest:
Other
The book says it could've been struck by a dime plachet? Is that what you mean by foreign?