Are proof sets worth it???

moff347

Apr 8, 2013
Primary Interest:
Other
As the title says, my question is, are proof sets worth buying. I have been collecting coins since I was 6 years old and have never purchased a proof set. I am currently looking at purchasing proof sets of the America the Beautiful quarter sets, which I will probably get regardless. However, I am trying to decide whether to get the entire years proof set and maybe start a collection of proofs or just getting the ATB proofs. I did some research and you can still get proof sets from the 60s and 70s for under 10 dollars so other than inflation they really have not increased in value. Just wanted to get yalls thoughts on the subject.

sagittarius98

Gold Member
Jan 16, 2012
Maryland
Detector(s) used
White's Coinmaster
Primary Interest:
Other
It depends on what you want. I think they look cool, but no one can tell you what you can and should collect. It is your collection, do what you want.

TheCoinKid

Apr 16, 2013
Texas
Primary Interest:
Other
I agree with the others, collect what you enjoy. I think you answered your own question regarding collecting ordinary proof sets as an investment. Personally, I bought my kids proof sets for their birth year, but otherwise stay away from them. I prefer toned, circulated coins and that's what I mostly buy.

cudamark

Gold Member
Top Banner Poster
Mar 16, 2011
San Diego
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus 2, Equinox 800/900, Fisher Impulse AQ, E-Trac, 3 Excal 1000's, White's TM808, VibraProbe, 15" NEL Attack, Mi6, Steath 920ix and 720i scoops, TRX, etc....
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
If you're buying them because you like them, great, have at it. If you're buying them for investment purposes, it would be better to buy the key dates in the higher grades of just about any series.

Generic_Lad

Bronze Member
Jul 23, 2010
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 250, Bounty Hunter Quick Draw
Primary Interest:
Other
Depends.