Bought incomplete 1877 IH cent

Twitch

Silver Member
Feb 1, 2010
Missouri
Uh, today I bought a beat up, bent, corroded and incomplete IH penny at an auction. It's labeled as an 1877 and, though the date is very, very hard to read, for the purposes of this post, let's assume that's what it is. Obviously it's in worse than horrible condition, starting with the fact that there's a small chunk of the coin missing. All of that being said, what exactly should a guy with a coin like this??? Is there any value, again assuming that it is actually an 1877?

I'm very new at this and any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated. I also overpaid at the auction for a couple of other coins and need to find a way to figure out either a) current coin prices while at the auction or b) what's going to be at the auction before I get there so that I can do a little research.

Thanks is advance.

Attachments

• P1110180.JPG
    P1110180.JPG
    426.9 KB · Views: 191

Iron Patch

Gold Member
Sep 28, 2007
Dirtyville
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Deus
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
You can't assume, by what you see it either is, or isn't, or is inconclusive... and inconclusive falls in the same category as isn't. Until you can categorically confirm it's 1877 you're at zero plus what someone might pay to take a chance, like you. (So really, zero)

Last edited:

Joshr29

May 23, 2012
Texas
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
You can't assume, by what you see it either is, or isn't, or is inconclusive... and inconclusive falls in the same category as isn't. Until you can categorically confirm it's 1877 you're at zero plus what someone might pay to take a chance, like you. (So really, zero)

Well said. If I were to assume I would only be making an azz outta you and me!

jeff of pa

Super Moderator
Staff member
Dec 19, 2003
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting