Gold Member
Sep 9, 2009
Fort Worth,Texas
Detector(s) used
CTX 3030 / AT PRO / Etrac w/ NEL
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello All.
Im far from being a coin expert, i just dabble in collecting American coins, and im trying to pretty much get at least ONE of each American Coin Minted.

Anyway...I recently aquired this 1858 Flying Eagle Cent, which is the first and only one i own.

MY question is, What do you think this would be graded as?..I did the basic Google Search and found the page that shows the difference from Good/Great/Uncicrulated.

I just wanted to know if this would be considered Excellent or Great condition...Please excuse my ignorance in the terminology.

Im mainly asking because i recently traded a few silver coins for this coins and a few other misc coins. And i want to see if i ..or He..under estimated the value.

Any help would be appreciated!!

Attachments

• Front Flying Eagle.png
    Front Flying Eagle.png
    382.4 KB · Views: 206
  • Back of Flying Eagle.png
    Back of Flying Eagle.png
    211.3 KB · Views: 180

moff347

Apr 8, 2013
Primary Interest:
Other
I would grade it around an EF 40 maybe EF 45 at its highest, EF stands for extremely fine. It has too much much wear on the breast to classify it as an about uncirculated (AU) condition. Damage to the rim on the reverse might knock it down a grade or so.

As far as value goes it would have a collector value of around $150. So I think you probably did fairly well. What exactly did you trade for it???

OP
OP
Diggin-N-Dumps

Diggin-N-Dumps

Gold Member
Sep 9, 2009
Fort Worth,Texas
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I would grade it around an EF 40 maybe EF 45 at its highest, EF stands for extremely fine. It has too much much wear on the breast to classify it as an about uncirculated (AU) condition. Damage to the rim on the reverse might knock it down a grade or so.