Hi all, newbie here. Looking for help on my first interesting find!

Prov3rb

Greenie
Jan 30, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi everyone. Two days ago I found out that one of my quarters was actually worth 50 cents and one thing turned into another and now I'm totally hooked on coin hunting! Very relaxing but very exciting at the same time.

I'll spare you a long winded story and start by asking for your help with my first interesting find! I am a Canadian and I've found a few coins that may be worth a little more (common misprints like missing FG 1969 american penny, missing MG 1964 canadian penny, etc.) but just a little while ago I came across a 1909 American penny in seemingly good condition! Here are some (not extraordinary) pictures of it. 1909US Penny - Imgur

If you guys have a few extra minutes I was wondering if you could spit-ball a rating at it? Or maybe point me in the right direction to get it properly rated? I'm still learning how to use/find the ratings,etc. I was also wondering if there was any good guides on how to properly clean coins? I was warned that cleaning coins can sometimes depreciate the value so I want to be careful.

I have a lot of questions to ask but maybe I'll leave it to just this for now! Thanks so much in advance for all your help, I look forward to hunting with you all :)

crhgymnast1

Jun 14, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome to tnet. It is highly unreccomended to clean coins at all. It will only decrease the value.

bigscores

Aug 8, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Never ever clean a coin. Ever. Never.

Looks XF, value prob around $10.

WheatWaffle

Bronze Member
Oct 30, 2013
That is one great find. They are VERY rare to find in circulation. I wouldn't clean the coin, because it is in fairly good condition. Congrats on a great score.

bigscores

Aug 8, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting