What do you think? Is this a Genuine 1955 DDO?

CoinHuntingDrew

Dec 23, 2013
Ohio
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT pro & Pro Pointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Lincoln Cent 1955 Double Die | eBay

I'm floating around on ebay, taking a look at raw 1955 DDO's and I spot this one. The pics aren't the greatest, but it almost looks like a fake.

According to this image:

1955counter6.jpg

If you look at the "1" in the date, the fake one on the image above shows it to be curved. Now if you look on the ebay one, it appears to be curved aswell.

Genuine or no? :icon_scratch:

bigscores

Aug 8, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Can't tell, I find the doubling on IGWT to be a better PUP.

EccentricInTexas

Jan 14, 2013
Central Texas
Detector(s) used
Minelab Equinox 800 11DD coil 11x15DD coil 6DD coil
Schiebel AN-19/2,
Bounty Hunter Land Ranger Pro,
Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505,
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am no expert but there are other ones on Ebay that are Graded and currently listed cheaper. This one the date looks a little different then them. But like I said I am no expert.

coinguy*matthew

Mar 30, 2013
N.H.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
These are so highly counterfeited that i would stay away from "raw eBay deals" so often they do not end well.

coinguy*matthew

Mar 30, 2013
N.H.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Notice what looks to be a ball shaped mass at the end of the 5's tail suspicious indeed. Also notice the seller will only accept a credit card as payment no paypal it's also listed with ridiculous shipping price. I wouldn't touch this coin with a ten in a half foot pole......

Last edited:

cudamark

Gold Member
Top Banner Poster
Mar 16, 2011
San Diego
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus 2, Equinox 800/900, Fisher Impulse AQ, E-Trac, 3 Excal 1000's, White's TM808, VibraProbe, 15" NEL Attack, Mi6, Steath 920ix and 720i scoops, TRX, etc....
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting