A coin is worth what you can get for it! Isn't it?

1shotwade

May 29, 2014
southern Indiana
Detector(s) used
white 4900/d
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I was snooping around on eBay looking at coins. Maybe you are one of these guys but I just need to understand the difference in value.

I saw a 1909 VDB asking $300,another $70.$50 then I find this. 12 VDB's for $10.00 !I like coins but that's about it. I'm no expert in anything like that.So I just have to ask,what's going on? are they truely valueable or not?
Thanks,y'all.
Wade

digging440yrs

Gold Member
Dec 5, 2012
UPSTATE NEW YORK
Detector(s) used
1970 COMPASS-
WHITES SILVER EAGLE-
WHITES DFX, 4X6DD COIL, 6X8DD COIL, 950 COIL, 10X12SEF COIL-
GARRETT PRO POINTER AT, GARRETT AT PRO , MINELAB EXPLORER SE with 8.5x12.5 Cors coil
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Condition plays a large part of value

Captain Caveman

Silver Member
May 14, 2015
Madison, MS
Detector(s) used
Fisher F75SE, F44, F2 and CZ-20. Minelab E-TRAC and Go-Find 60. Tesoro Tejon. BH Quick Silver.
Primary Interest:
Other
Condition plays a large part of value

Condition plays a LARGE PART of value.

Also, certified coins will bring more depending on who they are certified by.

huntsman53

Gold Member
Jun 11, 2013
East Tennessee
Primary Interest:
Other
I agree with the above answers but they don't get to answering your real question! Yes, some are fairly valuable, some are less valuable and condition means everything but in this case, some Sellers/Dealers are trying to get more for their' coins while others likely have less money in their' coins and are undercutting the other Sellers/Dealers. Such Sellers/Dealers that can afford to undercut other Sellers/Dealers, is the very reason I quit selling coins on eBay, especially Error and Variety Coins. These folks were selling the same Error and Variety Coins at way less than what I had in my' coins. It's a dog eat dog world.

Frank

OP
OP

1shotwade

May 29, 2014
southern Indiana