Gonefishn

Banned
Dec 15, 2016
Shenandoah valley
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am no expert in metal detecting-or coins, or coin cleaning-and I definitely do not suggest cleaning coins, especially old copper coins (most I have seen are just too far gone)-but what good is it if you can't see the date/let alone the coin itself? I found an Indian Head Penny about a year ago...I cleaned it under running water with a toothbrush/tried some simple methods, still could not read the date...at some point I bought a can of "copper cream" made by "wrights" which is only for polishing copper cookware-wax on/wax off method. This stuff has no harsh etchers or acids, but oil/breaks apart built up corrosion.

One night I couldn't stand not being able to see the date on the penny so I put some 'copper cream' in the corner of a zip lock bag/jammed the coin into it, and went to bed. The coin 'was' awful-green and rough with build up...The next morning I noticed the white cream had turned green and there were small pieces of debris mixed in, it looked like the cream had absorbed the corrosion-I expected the worst-but what I found was awesome...Do not attempt to brush or rub your coin-just rinse it under warm water...it did not harm the coin at all-infact, I recently found another Indian Head and soaked it for 3 nights (rinsing the coin/changing the cream nightly) and it turned out as good as a 100 year old copper coin buried in acidic soil could turn out....here's a before an after of the 1887 Indian Head then just an 'after' of the 1909-both of these coins were in awful shape when I dug them, but at least I can see the date 20160821_081621.jpg 20170121_230849.jpg 20170121_230849.jpg

Attachments

• 20170121_230933.jpg
    20170121_230933.jpg
    2.7 MB · Views: 88

Dozer D

Silver Member
Feb 12, 2012
Primary Interest:
Other
When all else has failed, use as a last result I guess. At least you now have tried.

sprailroad

Silver Member