Coin Newbie Going to Coin Auction!

SDIceMan

Nov 12, 2013
Southern California
Detector(s) used
Minelab Safari
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi all. I mostly frequent the garage sale/thrift threads, and this thread could probably go over there because it is auction related, but it is also coin related, so I hope its alright to post here. There is a coin auction going on in my town tomorrow and my dad and I are going to go check it out. I found out about it last minute, so I haven't had an opportunity to do much research. I plan on sitting down at the computer tonight and going through the lists to check values, but if anyone sees anything that jumps out at them as being particularly good, please let me know. I am a coin newbie, so any help is much appreciated. Thanks in advance and happy hunting!
ImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1486779466.155425.jpg ImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1486779475.340249.jpg
ImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1486779485.007542.jpg
ImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1486779494.341435.jpg ImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1486779506.775871.jpg
ImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1486779519.676427.jpg

Mackaydon

Gold Member
Oct 26, 2004
N. San Diego Pic of my 2 best 'finds'; son & g/son
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks
My first question would be: How do I know the coin is authentic? If I can't get over that hurdle, I'd stay home or just be a spectator.
Second point: Do you know how to grade coins? If not, my '2 cents' is the same as above.
If the coins are graded, what is the reputation of the grader? If unknown grader or one with poor reputation--same comment as above.
If you end up just observing the action; enjoy it !!
Don....

OP
OP
SDIceMan

SDIceMan

Nov 12, 2013
Southern California
Detector(s) used
Minelab Safari
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Very sound advice, Mackaydon.