Best way to find old pennies?

Ralib1

Aug 11, 2018
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello I’m new to this coin hunting world and I’ve deciding I’m gonna start a penny collection. The goal is to have at least one penny from every mint date.(If Possible...) It’s gonna be a hard task, especially since I’m not willing to buy the old collectables. This is a search mission only!

My question is, besides buying coin rolls from banks and using cash while shopping, what’s the best way to find old pennies such as wheat and indian head.

trdking

Gold Member
Feb 28, 2015
Fullerton CA
Detector(s) used
Minelab CTX 3030
AT Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome and good luck with your quest of assembling a penny set without buying them. I hope you are very young!

vpnavy

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jun 15, 2008
York County, PA (USA)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello I’m new...
tn_md.gif
I noticed this was your very first post - so, Welcome Aboard Ralib1! You didn't list your state (or country) in your profile. So, you might consider jumping over to Sub-Forums: Select Your Area.... and selecting location information (i.e., clubs, hunts, finds, legends, maps, etc.) directly related to your state (or country).

Dozer D

Silver Member
Feb 12, 2012
Primary Interest:
Other
Suggest by starting out, get yourself a current (2019 edit) or last years US COINS "RED BOOK". Asking around to some of your older family members, friends, etc for a start. Then it will become a HUNT for the next 50 years to complete all folders. I've been collecting since the '60-s", and still have yet to get the 4-key coins.
Welcome to the TN, we will all help where we can with your questions.

trdking

Gold Member
Feb 28, 2015
Fullerton CA
Detector(s) used
Minelab CTX 3030
AT Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting