Extremely worn coin, but will be my first!!!!!!!!!

LadyDigger

Bronze Member
Jun 7, 2006
Virginia Beach
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 250
I am a manager at one of our local grocery stores and I have the honors of closing down at night and counting down the tills of the day. I bring my magnifer to work with me, as these ol' eyes ain't what they use to be ;)...

Well, last night, one of the assist bookkeepers was doing her weekly chores and showed me a bag of all the foreign coins they had...OMG...some really nice ones! I have a better collection of foreign coins than I do US ones...but I'm getting there.

I told her I want to buy some of these, but I have to wait for the head bookkeeper to come in...which I have to wait till tomorrow (Sunday)...so k...not a problem.

Well, going through them....many are from Canada (not to many old ones, more recent), Bahamas, Panama, Cuba (one from 1960, I want that one, it's a pretty one LOL), but as I was going through them...something caught my eye...

At first I thought it was a token or play money of sort....but I saw an Indian on one side and on the back...all you can see is ONE CENT...then on the front I was looking to see if I could find a date...1888...I was like OMG...my FIRST INDIAN CENT!!!

I am going to buy this one, and I don't care how badly worn it is...it will go with my badly worn Barber Quarter (dated unknown)....I'm so excited!!! That had to come from someone's collection...OMG...but like I said...badly worn, but you can still read the date and see the Indian.

I hope to have it in my hands tomorrow (Sunday) and I will take pics of it..in the mean time...here's a link to the coin I found (only this one is in much better shape!)

http://www.coinfacts.com/small_cents/indian_head_cents/1888_indian_head_cents.htm