newbie question about buying coins on eBay

pulltabfelix

Bronze Member
Jan 29, 2018
North Atlanta
Detector(s) used
Currently have CTX3030 and Vanquish 440.
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
First of all let me explain what kind of newbie I am. I have been collecting Morgans off and on for five years. So I am proficient in grading, but not an expert.

Lately I have been checking US coin eBay auctions that are going to expire in next few hours.

I look for key dates and grade. But what I often find on ebay with pennies, nickels, dimes and quarters are lots of listing have really crappy photos where I simply cannot assign a grade. So I don't even bother with those.

I carefully look at all auction details. Lot of scam type behavior like listing a single coin but picture a lot of 10 coins. I don't fall for any of that BS.

When I do find an expensive good quality coin that the seller has listed a specific grade, I look at seller's feedback and past auctions and read what the buyers have said. If there are a lot of happy buyers buying coins that the seller has offered a specific grade, I will then usually buy the coin.

When the sellers says something vague like "fine coin" or good coin, I pretty much ignore that coin. Often those type of vague descriptions are accompanied with crappy out of focus photos or just the obverse photo.

Question, do these seller think we are all stupid or are there buyers who fall for that stuff? I guess some people will buy something they really don't know the coin's value.

I am buying these coins as an hobby to build a collection along with my metal detecting. Sometimes I will try to buy a single lot of BU coins that are as described, and seller has great 100% feedback and break up the lot and sell each coin as an individual auction.

Any other advice or finding faults with my method will be appreciated. I really don't have the time to buy coins in bulk and look through them, so is there any other way besides eBay to build a collection?