Ever heard of Helmscene?

muleskinner

Aug 8, 2007
West Michigan
Detector(s) used
minelab, tesoro
Has anybody out there ever heard of Helmscene? They are a backlit type of picture, usually a photograph of a landscape. They were made primarily in the 50's in Grand Rapids Michigan. They can also be a painting, as the Last Supper is. They are traded on Ebay, but isn't everything?
Anyway just checking with our forum because I've been collecting them for about 15 years. They really are nice in my family room. They can brighten your mood as well.

Mookkee

Oct 2, 2016
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi, ya, I know quite a bit about them. I live in Grand Rapids, MI where they were made. Actually grew up near the factory. I have a collection. I enjoy talking about them. I'm brand new to this site and am feeling my way through.

Elizabeth8B

Mar 5, 2017
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi There! I only own one scene, and am looking for information on how to clean it. Also, it is buzzing and needs to be rewired, I believe, it's an absolute mess inside. Replaced the bulbs and it didn't fix. Do either of you have any suggestions on how to clean or who can rewire? I would also like to buy a few replacement subject screens, but can only find the complete lit piece. I am also in Grand Rapids! Thanks for any help.

AlienLifeForm

Bronze Member
Jan 31, 2010
DFW Texas
Detector(s) used
Minelab E-TRAC, Garrett ProPointer, Lesche Digger
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
This is a decade old post, if you don't get a reply - that might be why.

JohnCampbell

Jan 22, 2019
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Has anybody out there ever heard of Helmscene? They are a backlit type of picture, usually a photograph of a landscape. They were made primarily in the 50's in Grand Rapids Michigan. They can also be a painting, as the Last Supper is. They are traded on Ebay, but isn't everything?