fbjr

Apr 13, 2007
Elmira, NY
Detector(s) used
Minelab CTX 3030/Minelab e-trac/
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi everyone,
I've had my CTX for a couple of years now and really like it, but can't seem to avoid nails. I've tried changing all kinds of settings, watched tons of videos and read the book by Andy a few times and still can't seem to solve this problem. No matter what I changed, it still seems to pick up on nails both older square nails and newer nails as well. Do any of you know of a solution to this problem, they seem to ring with a high pitch and fools me 9 times out of 10. This happens even when I'm in the stock Silver mode. I'm no expert with this machine and was wondering if anyone had any good tips to fix this ? At the same time I don't want to discriminate out too much. Thanks for any input or solutions.

cudamark

Gold Member
Top Banner Poster
Mar 16, 2011
San Diego
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus 2, Equinox 800/900, Fisher Impulse AQ, E-Trac, 3 Excal 1000's, White's TM808, VibraProbe, 15" NEL Attack, Mi6, Steath 920ix and 720i scoops, TRX, etc....
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
What readings are you getting? Nails can many times read 47 on the conductive side, just like quarters, but, they should read in the 30's on the ferrous side, giving you indication that it's not a good target. Now deep rusty iron can give you a chirp too good to resist, but, that shouldn't happen too often.

smokeythecat

Gold Member
Nov 22, 2012
Maryland
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I get some of the older hand forged nails as good targets, however in my book the 18th century nails ARE good! I keep them.

Silver Saver

Mar 15, 2017
Center of North America
Detector(s) used
Etrac- Sunray x5, x8, x12. Garrett Carrot.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting