TORRERO

30+ YEARS, XP DEUS I & II ARE MY GO TO MACHINES
Nov 17, 2004
NC
Detector(s) used
XP DEUS I & II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I recently bought a Deus... already I am liking the depth and target separation. That said, let me add a few things here that I have experienced with this machine..
First I have been metal detecting for almost 30 years, so I have plenty of background experience, just not with the DEUS, that said, I bought the 9 inch HF elliptical coil and have the large 11 inch standard and 9 1/2 inch standard as well.
I can tell from my short experience that if you want GOLD, the HF Elliptical coil in the 74 freq. mode is super sensitive and will pick up just about any small piece of GOLD that you wave in front of it, I use the AUTO TRACK for ground balance,
and listen for any signal that is SOLID ... I am accustomed to a detector with a digital numeric readout, that gives me ideas of what a target is... and this can be useful but the DEUS will change those numbers if you change the FREQ.
at the HF 74 freq. all targets of any size get HIGH numbers.. where my Whites DFX puts a nickel at 18-20, the DEUS in this config, puts it at 85. a zinc on the DFX is at 60-65 on the DEUS its at 95, copper pennies come up at 78-80 on DFX and 96 on DEUS with dime at 97 and quarters at 98 respectively. these numbers drop extensively if you use the other coils with lower freq. I was using the DEUS on the beach in COLOMBIA SOUTH AMERICA where there is tons of trash and
iron bottle caps from beer. The HF 9 in coil in this config is the only one that would pretty much knock out those bottle caps.... the other coils would give a solid coin signal of 95 or higher for them.. making in a very big headache to use..
that said, the HF coil in 74 freq. take out almost all IRON, (not all, so nobody shank me for this) but it is also super sensitive to small gold, I have an extensive collection of gold stuff and things my DFX won't touch are, most all gold chains.