squidboy1951

Greenie
May 31, 2013
N. Fork CA
Detector(s) used
fortunate enough to have several
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have an XP Deus which I have been using on an off for several years, I share it with my wife and we have found many items, coins, bullets, silver ring, jewelry and some old iron tools.
My questions are probably very lame, I am 70+ years old, techno impaired, but we enjoy detecting and now have more time for our hobby. Our machine is probably a V3.0 and I was wondering if we need to update it to a V5.0. We have no problems or complaints with it, the coil, remote control and WS4 head phones charge up and work good. The new x35 and hf coils seem like something we may want or need, but don't know enough if they would even work with our detector.

We are thinking about getting an additional XP Deus detector so we would both have one, but don't know which one to get. We hunt on our own property a lot and are lucky to find items from early 1900s from a logging camp, old railroad and old homesite. Our location is in the Central Sierra foothills, and I believe our soil is mineralized to give you our search conditions. A new XP Deus would be nice, but they all have different coils and like I said the one we have works great, so I just don't know, the detector is very light and easy for old people to use with out tiring you out. So the 9 inch coils would probably be the best size, but the HF coil has a more user friendly battery, (original coil battery will probably need to be changed soon) I would like to have the same coil for both detectors, but don't know if the X35 coils can work with the old machine.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

vferrari

Silver Member
Jul 19, 2015
Near Ground Zero for Insanity
Detector(s) used
XP Deus with HF/x35 Coils and Mi6 Pinpointer/ML Equinox 600/800/ML Tarsacci MDT 8000 GPX 4800/Garrett ATX/Fisher F75 DST/Tek G2+/Delta/Whites MXT/Nokta Simplex/Garrett Carrot
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting