Newbie - Gravity dredge info needed

Caminochaos

Apr 14, 2010
Hello everyone! I have been panning and sluicing for 12 years or so and looking to get a little more creative. I have been doing a lot of research on gravity dredges due to the fact that a gas powered dredge is out of reach for me money wise the gravity dredge might be a good temporary solution.

I have the concept of how to make one and it seems that a simple Big-O dredge is the most popular. However I have heard that the fines get caught in the ripples quite a bit. I like the idea of being able to carry a flexible hose to my spot because carring 100' feet of PVC pipe would be tough through brush and hills 1 or 2 guys.

My questions:
Is have any of you tried other types of hoses or pipes that are a little easier to handle? OR
Is there an easy way to clean out the ripple inside the Big-O pipes?
OR
Are there inserts or sleeves you can buy to line the inside of the Big-O?

I am looking to go cheap on this.

Thanks for your help.

patches63

Jun 20, 2009
republic of trinity usa
Detector(s) used
gpx4500,gmt
not sure what a big-o dredge is,but yestertday spent more on large diameter utility water line,than a pump would cost brand new. 80 psi line (poly) is also much harder to pack than an engine pump on a ledge frame pack.and weighs in close to same weight.g-dredging takes volume plus head.rare are areas where 100 foot of pvc will suffice.deposits beneath waterfalls come to mind.40 foot drop per mile of stream has been said to be optimal for deposition of values.heavier the values/steeper the optimal grade.thus,serious ops need lots of gravity line.start at about your venturi diameter X 2 if not in california,would re-consider the pump option.honda engines with modern mining pumps are actually easier.having said that,a successfull gravity unit would be the cats whiskers.would need 12V air i suppose,or what point.hope this helps,keep us posted.

Attachments

• 0614091009a.jpg
    0614091009a.jpg