Dredge nozzle question

tree.10

Tenderfoot
Sep 22, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello i am looking for some advice on the function of a power jet.
dredgepic.jpg
i have a 45 degree tee fitting which is 1.5 inches, i have capped the inside and put a 8mm hole to produce a jet effect. this is fed by a 3/4 inch hose connected with a solvent weld hosetail. will this set up in theory work. i am just using the nozzle to suck mud out of the bottom of a pond.
http://i1226.photobucket.com/albums/ee412/tree-10/nozzle.jpg

Timberdoodle

Oct 17, 2012
Kingfield, Maine
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
8mm jet opening sounds good for 1 1/2" jet. 3/4" hose feed should be large enough. I expect it will work fine for your use, but I would keep output at 1 1/2 and not reduce it to 1" or you will create back pressure and reduce suction.

OP
OP
T

tree.10

Tenderfoot
Sep 22, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
thanks for the input, i will give it a try and update

Hoser John

Gold Member
Mar 22, 2003
Redding,Calif.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
11 degree angle is mandatory a 45 is lousy for suction production. Industry standard for over 60 years or so per studies by Bureau of Reclaimation spent millions testing. You'd be much better off just using a hose and gravity fed to simply siphon clean if possible to a lower elevation,even a foot works-John

Timberdoodle

Oct 17, 2012
Kingfield, Maine
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
John, He is building a simple suction nozzle not a log jet with the 45 being the suction input not the jet. the jet is inline. Please see his pic's.

OP
OP
T

tree.10

Tenderfoot
Sep 22, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
well the nozzle worked perfectly, i just have a few questions for anyone interested
1. will decreasing the suction hoses tip or diameter cause more suction
2. how does lift height affect the performance and is lift height from the tip of the suction hose or water surface