diving saftey

beekbuster

Jan 17, 2015
Detector(s) used
gpx 4500
gpz (died in a fire. rip)
Primary Interest:
Other
i have some questions for the experienced divers on the forum. i went to a dive/ gold shop today and was talking with the man there about the dangers of compressed air. i am unfamiliar with this so i would absolutely want to take classes before using any of this equipment. my question is how did you learn how to safely use an underwater breathing aparatous, what are the greatest dangers, and is it for me? i am very sharp, love adventure, i need to be aware of the risks before i pursue an activity. thankyou for your input

ezrider2

Nov 17, 2014
Fairfax Va
Detector(s) used
Angus MacKirk Recon 2 and Boss 2, Custom made 52" river sluice, pans, Viper vac.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Get certified to scuba dive. To many things can go that can kill you. A little piece of gold isn't worth it. It's not about learning how to use it, it's about knowing what and how to deal if something goes wrong.

fowledup

Silver Member
Jul 21, 2013
Northern California
Detector(s) used
Whites GMT V/SAT
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Not to sure about the safe part but my dad was a PADI dive instructor when I was a kid and he would let us kids breath with the tank and regulator in the pool (with his supervision of course), coolest thing in the world for a kid. Later on in life I took the course myself. I would recomend getting your Scuba cert. or ask if you can monitor the classroom portion of it if you don't think you will ever use the cert. Lots of good info that anyone playing underwater should know. Don't know about Anderson, but Chico and Paradise both have some excellent instructors if you don't mind the drive. If Jim is still doing them, I would take his course without hesitation.

Hoser John

Gold Member
Mar 22, 2003
Redding,Calif.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting