Sore hands from dredging?

Ragnor

Dec 7, 2015
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I was just wondering.....
I spent all last week dredging. Now my hands are just killing me. So I'm wondering if that's normal? I didn't do much all winter last week was my first real spell of heavy activity since last fall. None the less I was a mechanic for 20+ years and I have always had pretty strong hands. I am 43 now. So I'm wondering, Am I just getting old or is it possible there is some aspect to the water that could maybe cause the pain in my knuckles? The water is real cold and of course I was continuously throwing handfuls of 2.5" + rock for 6-8 hours at a time for 5 days strait. Maybe it's normal to have sore hands? After all my entire body was sore after the first 3 days. After all it's work moving a yard of rock and gravel a day every day for a week.

Anyway I been thinking all these things and I just figured I'd ask if other people had had a problem with that or if it's unusual? Am I just getting old? lol

No gold in NY

Bronze Member
Mar 22, 2015
Detector(s) used
Whites Coin Master,
Whites Gold Master GMT, Whites MXSport
High banker/dredge,
DIY hand trommel,
DIY Miller table,
DIY fluidbed gold trap sluice,
Keene A-52 A-52s
2186 Wheaties
Primary Interest:
Other
Arthritis and cold water do not go well together. Yeah arthritis. My doctor says everyone over 35 has it. You'll be alright. just stop aggravating it. Now, show us the gold.

ratled

Feb 18, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Dredger hands,,,, ,yep that's normal if you are doing it right!

Hoser John

Gold Member
Mar 22, 2003
Redding,Calif.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Double gloves, white cotton gloves inside helps but the first month of dredge season always puts you in the hurting place-John

Goldwasher

Gold Member
May 26, 2009
Sailor Flat, Ca.
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
SDC2300, Gold Bug 2 Burlap, fish oil, .35 gallons of water per minute.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting