Kinda off topis BUT

russau

Gold Member
May 29, 2005
St. Louis, missouri
I've been dredging for a few years now (2002) and highbacking /panning/metal detecting since 96-97 and I feel it! How does a person (like me) determine when to call it quits? The club I helped start years back folded and all of the people melted into the wood work! knees / ankles / back are shot and I have for a long time had a hard time getting up out of the water when dredging. Now getting up / down hills and worse yet getting my dredge out and back to camp. Well I solved 1 problem and sold my 4 inch and a year latter I bought another from a friend that was in the same situation as I am only to come to the conclusion that I goofed up getting it. Now I have a lowly 2 inch Keene dredge that I want to get out , only to still have the same problems as with the 4 inch dredges.......................HUMPH!! I cant get anyone to go out with me (I showered even!) I even said I would give them the gold and teach them how-2-dredge and got NO reply's............. I guess it's time to pull the plug and I HATE TO DO IT!!! Everything I did was in reference to dredging and I mean everything! My shop and trailer are loaded with tools / parts / equipment that I used to fix , build equipment . And now I must make the decision and I think it was already made for me! And I don't like it! BUT there again ,I had a great time and meet a LOT of great people , and that is my treasure that nobody can take away from me. I finally got around to cleaning up several 1/2 buckets of cons that I went threw real quick and put into the corner for someday to finish ,well that was yesterday and I was really surprised at what I found! It was about 1/4 OZ. and I though ,what am I going to do with this?? Well one of my best friends Birthday is coming up in Colorado this month. Mr. Hoser knows him very well also and I though I would mail it to him for his birthday for all the golden memories he gave us! BUT please don't let him know