Oct 12, 2019
Huntsville, AL
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Lobo Super Traq
Tesoro Compadre
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey All,

I am new to Treasure.net and this is my first post.

My question is, is it normal to have some losses of fine material in the coarse tailings pile from a highbanker?

I just got a Gold Hog Piglet mini highbanker that I ran the other day with a 3700gph 12v 16amp bilge pump.
I noticed fine material in the coarse tailings pile including garnets and black sand.
So I put a pan under the grizzly bars to catch the tailings, and proceeded to try different things to minimalize the losses.

Things I Tried and the results:
** Lowering the header box angle.
This just made rocks get stuck on the grizzly bars

** Adding my 2200gph pump by zip tying the hose to the pipe that feeds water into the header box.
More water spit out of the box instead of going into through the grizzly bars.

** Ran fine tailings from the end of the sluice to see if maybe larger rocks where keeping some stuff from going though the sluice.
Still losses.

** Slowed my feed rate
Still losses.

** Just ran the 2200gph pump after a clean out.
Water wasn't making it out which is good, but 2200 gph isn't enough water.

From what I can gather online, it seems that it is the nature of a highbanker's design to have some losses from the hopper feeder end.
Before I left, I panned some material from the coarse tailings pile and found three specks.

Is anyone else aware of this problem and does anyone have any suggestions?

OP
OP
G

gmn0000

Tenderfoot
Oct 12, 2019
Huntsville, AL
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Lobo Super Traq
Tesoro Compadre
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
IMG_5557.JPG

Goldwasher

Gold Member
May 26, 2009
Sailor Flat, Ca.
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
SDC2300, Gold Bug 2 Burlap, fish oil, .35 gallons of water per minute.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting